Power BI Exchange

Please login or click SIGN UP FOR FREE to create your PowerBIUG account to join this user group.
 View Only
  • 1.  Basic question - PBI access for Mac users

Posted 27 days ago
    Good morning, we use Power BI as our primary reporting and analytics tool for VERSO. We have several employees that own a MAC, and we are looking for the best way for these Mac users to access PBI reporting, and create reports (using Views created by Database administrator). We mostly use PBI desktop, but we can provide PBI Online for use as well, if it will help. Any recommendations on how to leverage PBI for Mac users? Thank you!  Bob

------------------------------
    Bob Foster
    Founder

• 2.  RE: Basic question - PBI access for Mac users

Posted 25 days ago
    Edited by Ed Fox 25 days ago
    Good Day Bob,
    I'm a PBI developer but I prefer using my Mac as my primary machine.  For smaller models, Parallels seems to work fine, but for larger models, I remote desktop into my beefy windows machine.  I'm not a big fan of editing reports in the service, so I can't speak to that much.

-Ed Fox

Ed Fox
    MitraQSR

• 3.  RE: Basic question - PBI access for Mac users

Posted 25 days ago
    Thank you very much Ed! Have a great week,

Bob Foster
    Founder

• 4.  RE: Basic question - PBI access for Mac users

Posted 24 days ago
    Hi Bob,

Just to make sure you have a complete understanding.
    Data Modelling (building tables & writing DAX) can only be done in Power BI Desktop, which is PC software only.
    Only the visualization of existing data models can be done in the service.

Providing someone else is providing an appropriate data model, and your Mac users don't need to write DAX, then building reports online in the service is exactly the same experience as building in Desktop.

hope this helps complete your understanding of what's possible.

Jason

Jason Cockington
    Trainer & Consultant
    Kenmore

• 5.  RE: Basic question - PBI access for Mac users